We previously reported that all Arizona employers will be required to make paid sick leave available to their employees beginning on July 1, 2017. The law requires that businesses with 14 or fewer employees provide at least 24 hours of leave annually, and businesses with 15 or more employees provide at least 40 hours of leave annually, to employees to treat their their own illness or obtain preventive care, to care for a family member who is ill or needs preventive care, for certain circumstances associated with sexual or domestic violence, and for business closures precipitated by outbreaks or threatened outbreaks of communicable disease.

On May 10, 2017, over six months after the election, the Industrial Commission submitted a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking to the Arizona Secretary of State. The proposed rules answer a few open questions commonly held by Arizona employers, leave many other questions unanswered, and raise some new issues. We have prepared an alert for Arizona employers detailing their obligations under the Arizona statute, addressing the questions answered in part by the new proposed rules, and explaining what steps employers can take if they wish to submit further comment before the rules are finally adopted on June 5, 2017.