As of January 1, 2015, twenty-one states, two counties and five cities have raised the minimum wage for workers. Workers will see an increase in Albuquerque, NM ($8.75 per hour), Arizona ($8.05 per hour), Arkansas ($7.50 per hour), Richmond, CA ($9.60 per hour), San Francisco, CA ($11.05 per hour – increasing to $12.25 on May 1), San Jose, CA ($10.30 per hour), Colorado ($8.23 per hour), Connecticut ($9.15 per hour), Florida ($8.05 per hour), Hawaii ($7.75 per hour), Maryland ($8.00 per hour – increasing to $8.25 on July 1), Montgomery County and Prince George’s County, Maryland ($8.40 per hour), Massachusetts ($9.00 per hour), Missouri ($7.65 per hour), Montana ($8.05 per hour), Nebraska ($8.00 per hour), New Jersey ($8.38 per hour), Las Cruces, NM ($8.40 per hour), New York ($8.75 per hour), Ohio ($8.10 per hour), Oregon ($9.25 per hour), Rhode Island ($9.00 per hour), South Dakota ($8.50 per hour), Vermont ($9.15 per hour), Washington ($9.47 per hour), and West Virginia ($8.00 per hour). Alaska voters voted to increase the minimum wage to $8.75 per hour effective January 1, 2015, however, pay increases will not take effect until 90 days after the election results are certified, likely around the end of February. Employers in these states need to display updated posters with the new minimum wage rates as required by state and/or local law.

Additionally, minimum wage changes are planned on the following dates in 2015 for workers in the following locations: Minnesota ($9.00 on August 1), Delaware ($8.25 on June 1), Berkeley, CA ($11.00 on October 1), Oakland, CA ($12.25 on March 2), Chicago, IL ($10.00 on July 1), Washington, D.C. ($10.50 on July 1), Seattle, WA ($10.00 for employers of 500 or fewer employees, $11.00 for employers of more than 500 employees, effective April 1).

The Federal minimum wage remains unchanged at $7.25 per hour. However, if your workers are in a city, county or state that has a minimum wage above the Federal rate, you must pay workers the higher rate. A complete list of minimum wage rates for all states can be found at the US Department of Labor. Note that rates may differ for employers with state or local government contracts, and that the listed minimum wage rates may not apply to certain employers.