Squire Patton Boggs presents a series of webinars focusing on the key labour and employment issues in countries throughout Europe, the Middle East, Asia Pacific and the United States.

Given in English by our local labour and employment law experts, each 60-minute webinar comprises a 50-minute presentation followed by a 10-minute online question and answer session.

Intended to help you manage labour and employment law risk across your international operations, the webinars will be of interest to both HR professionals and in-house counsel.

On 7 December 2016 at 4.00 pm GMT (5.00 pm CET, 11.00 am EST, 8.00 am PST, 9.00 am MST), the featured country is the United States. Jill Kirila from our Columbus office and Laura Lawless Robertson from Phoenix will provide updates on:

Recent Major US Judicial Decisions and Their Impact on Employers

Major Legislation Affecting Business in the US

  • Defend Trade Secrets Act (May 2016):
    • Provides first Federal civil claim for misappropriation of trade secrets
    • Courts may grant injunctive relief to prevent actual or threatened misappropriation
    • Law contains immunity provision
  • Affordable Care Act, Section 1557 Developments
  • Developments at state and local levels:
    • Medical Marijuana
    • Paid Sick Leave
    • Minimum Wage Increases

Executive Agency News

  • DOL
    • New FLSA Regulations
    • OSHA Final Rule to Nudge Employers to Prevent Workplace Injuries, Illnesses
  • NLRB
    • Aggressive Stance on Class and Collective Action Waivers in Arbitration Agreements
    • Continued Expansive View of Joint Employer Relationships
  • EEOC
    • Gender Identity and Sexual Orientation Discrimination
    • Employer-Provided Leave and ADA
    • Aggressive Stance on Severance Agreements Temporarily Stalled
  • SEC
    • Enforcement of Position on Whistleblower Language in Release Agreements
  • President Obama Executive Orders
    • Ban the Box
    • Minimum Wage for Federal Contractors
    • Mandatory Paid Sick Leave for Federal Contractors
    • Fair Pay and Safe Workplaces (“Blacklisting”)

Register