Following the election of Emmanuel Macron in the French presidential elections in May 2017, and as announced during his campaign, a major and ambitious transformation of France’s labour laws has been launched. The reforms are intended to tackle mass unemployment and make France more competitive in the global market. In late August 2017 the government issued five Decrees containing significant measures aimed at overhauling and simplifying the French Labour Code. The changes will materially affect all businesses with operations in France.

On 18 October at 4.00 p.m. BST (UK) (5.00 p.m. CEST, 11.00 a.m. EDT, 8.00 a.m. PDT), Cristelle Devergies-Bouron and Jeremie Gicquel will take participants through the key changes, including the:

  • Main changes in relation to redundancies
  • New organisation of social dialogue
  • Reorganisation of collective bargaining

The webinar will be a 50-minute presentation in English followed by a 10-minute online question and answer session.

Intended to help participants manage labour and employment law risk across their international operations, the webinar will be of interest to both HR professionals and in-house counsel.

This webinar is part of our 2017 series focusing on the key labour and employment issues in countries throughout Europe, the Middle East, Asia Pacific and the US.

Register