As of January 1, 2014, thirteen states will raise the minimum wage for workers. In Arizona ($7.90 per hour), Colorado [pdf] ($8.00 per hour), Connecticut [pdf] ($8.70 per hour), Florida [pdf] ($7.93 per hour), Missouri ($7.50 per hour), Montana ($7.90 per hour), New Jersey ($8.25 per hour), New York ($8.00 per hour), Ohio ($7.95 per hour), Oregon [pdf] ($9.10 per hour), Rhode Island ($8.00 per hour), Vermont [pdf] ($8.73 per hour), and Washington ($9.32 per hour), workers will see an increase. All employers in these states need to display updated posters with the new state minimum wage as required by state law.
Additionally, California’s minimum wage will increase to $9.00 per hour on July 1, 2014.
The Federal minimum wage remains unchanged at $7.25 per hour. However, if your workers are in a state that has a minimum wage above the Federal rate, you must pay workers the higher rate. A complete list of minimum wage rates for all states can be found at the U.S. Department of Labor.